Kitchen Items: Farewell Purple Spatula

(To be read while Sarah McLachlan’s “I Will Remember You” plays)

Today I’m retiring a good friend. My beautiful purple spatula, gifted to me many years ago by the fabulously talented and artistic Kate (KateWares) has mixed its last mix, stir fried its last stir fry, folded its last cake batter. 

I know, it’s silly. Saying goodbye to a spatula is weird. 

At the same time, a friend took the time to pick out something that she thought I would like, and it has been a part of my kitchen since I was a young undergrad. So it is a little sad to say goodbye. 

I learned how to cook with my friendly purple spatula, I gesticulated wildly with it as I made many important points in a discussion, made dinners with it for family and friends, and just in general, had a nice little handy thing in the kitchen. 

And so it’s time to say goodbye. No matter how stupid I may look saying it, I’ll miss my purple pal. 

Spatula on, purple friend.
Leave a Reply

