Trying Things: Spicy White Hot Chocolate: The Chocolating

I’m back! 

After lunch of leftover panko chicken with lemon sauce (you had better believe that’s going to be a post down the road), I hung out and watched full house, and pondered my hot chocolaty failure. 

I wanted to balance out the super sweet white hot chocolate and hide the terrible quality of the chocolate chips somewhere, but as I mentioned in my last post, it’s hard to do that with skim milk. 

Enter the saviour of many dishes: butter! 

The recipe, including how to, is down below but I’m reasonably pleased with how this one turned out! 

I’m taking more pictures of my drinks than a Starbucks customer with a hard to spell name!

Ultimately, I’m not sure spicy goes with white chocolate. I got the rich warm flavour that I wanted from a slightly more grown up white hot chocolate, but it’s like they are two flavours at odds. In a dark hot chocolate, I love a bit of kick, but this seems like two different drinks who happen to meet in the same mug. 

Like, it’s one moment “here’s a sweet calming drink for you” and then a few seconds later “Here’s a bright little kick – whee!” The hot chocolate is good, but I will probably leave the optional heat out. Or switch back to dark hot chocolate.

(Spicy Optional) White Hot Chocolate 

  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup white chocolate (spring for a good quality chocolate)
  • 1/8 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp salted butter
  • Generous pinch cayenne*
  • Mini marshmallows (for garnish)
  • Chocolate shavings (for garnish)

* optional 

  1. Over medium low heat, melt butter, chocolate chips. Add cayenne. Stir frequently. 
  2. Add roughly 1/4 cup of milk. Stir until butter/chocolate mix is incorporated. Add vanilla. 
  3. Pre-heat mug with warm or boiling water. Dry thoroughly. 
  4. Put a few mini marshmallows in the the bottom of the mug, pour hot chocolate on top. Top with more marshmallows and chocolate shavings. 
  5. Enjoy while contemplating a favourite memory from your childhood. 

Butter, saving the day.
Whisk OVERDRIVE

Until next time, may you always pour the right amount of flour the first try. 

Love!

Exciting nights ahead!
Leave a Reply

